Sign the Petition!
HB1275 creates a sportsmen’s license plate. The bill requires a $10 initial fee and $25 annual renewal in addition to the standard DMV fees. The money goes directly to the wildlife cash fund. CPW is directed to use the money to fund grants for two purposes; expanding opportunities for public shooting, and improving fishing in Colorado.
Two of the basic gateways to hunting and angling sports occur through basic initiation and instruction through opportunities that allow a parent to take a young person plinking at a range, or to a nearby park to catch their first pan fish. The goals of this bill are twofold: To allow Colorado’s sportsmen and women to proudly display their identity as a community, and to boost some of the most basic opportunities into our sport by providing more access to shooting ranges and fishing.
- The Colorado Parks and Wildlife (CPW) offers two grant programs to which the funding generated by the license plate could be administered: the Shooting Range Development Grants and Fishing is Fun.
- CPW’s Range Development Program received proposals totaling over $2 million in requests for shooting range projects in 2012 for $500,000 available funds – a funding shortfall of $1.5 million.
- Colorado is currently experiencing a lack of public shooting ranges, and ongoing threats to close this activity on federally managed lands. Local governments such as Summit County are addressing the issue themselves by seeking ways to provide shooting range opportunities.
- Excise taxes on ammunition and firearm purchases generate the significant bulk of federal funding for wildlife and hunter education programs through the Pittman-Robertson Act – Colorado received nearly $9.5 million in 2011.
- Fishing recreation annually contributes more than $1.2 billion to Colorado’s economy through direct and secondary expenditures. The average daily expenditures of resident anglers is $67 per day when fishing, while nonresidents spend nearly $120 per day. Fishing recreation supports more than 14,500 jobs statewide.
- The initial cost of the plate will be $60: $25 to cover DMV fees, $25 to the HUTF, and $10 to CPW. After that, the plate will have a $25 renewal fee that will go to CPW.
Show your support for Colorado’s hunting and angling heritage – click here to sign the petition!